PDA

View Full Version : Pooyie Compost Mix

Matt G
03-31-2016, 10:17 AM
Anybody use the Pooyie Compost mix for their gardens? I picked up a couple yards for my raised bed and noticed that it's a fairly dense mixture. Tons of topsoil and not nearly enough compost or peat moss. Once it gets wet, it starts to clump and packs solid. Anybody else had this issue with it?

I'd like to mix in some more peat moss but my plants are already in the ground and I don't feel like digging them all up. Granted, my tomatoes look like crap and may have to be replaced. Any suggestions?

lil bubba
03-31-2016, 11:05 AM
I don't know how big of a bed you have but home depot sells a cheap topsoil that I used to break up my clay I had...It's $1.69 a bag and it's mostly sand and really small woodchips...You could take and spread a lil layer on top and work it in with a rake...

ragincajun
03-31-2016, 11:57 AM
I have been using the Pooyie for several years and have good success with it. This is my garden from last year. Now you still have to add fertilizer to any soil. I did a soil test on it and I know several people who did the same that use Pooyie and our fertilizer recommendations were very similar. PM me if you would like me to send them to you. The amount of fertilizer that they tell you to put seems very small but I have gone a year without doing it and the difference it makes is tremendous.

Matt G
03-31-2016, 12:34 PM
I don't know how big of a bed you have but home depot sells a cheap topsoil that I used to break up my clay I had...It's $1.69 a bag and it's mostly sand and really small woodchips...You could take and spread a lil layer on top and work it in with a rake...

My bed is 4' x 16'. It's just regular topsoil? Would you know the brand right off hand?