PDA

View Full Version : Doing it right?

Ducktrickster
06-09-2009, 08:30 PM
I hear talk on this and other forums all the time discussing inconsiderate fisherman and I totally understand the frustration that comes from someont shotputting the anchor on top of your school of fish. What I am interested in hearing about is when you say "People don't know how to fish the lake." What exactly are you talking about? Is it running accross reefs and scattering the fish on it, approaching fishing spots incorrectly, or not presenting the lures efficiently. I think if you guys with more experience could explain some of these things instead of always complaining about them, more fisherman could understand the proper ways to do things on the water which would make everyone's trips a little more enjoyable.

Finfeatherfur
06-09-2009, 08:57 PM
Charlie, I'm no expert, but here are some of my $0.02 on the subject. First, a something as simple as getting the right gear and learning how to use it is a big plus. Look at rods/reels for example. If a guy is backlashing every cast, he is missing bites, if he is using 15-20lb line, he is missing bites, if he uses a 6'6" worm rod, he is missing fish. The trout is a relatively small, slender fish, that usually tries to kill the bait before eating it. Most times, all you will feel is a "tap", set the hook. Most people that are rookies at inshore saltwater fishing, go with the "more is better" attitude and overkill it. A worm rod rigged for Toledo Bend will catch fish, but not as many as a 7' or 7.5' med/fast action rod w/ 12# line. That longer rod w/ lighter line will cast farther and have better feel.

Something as simple as trolling into a area instead of using a outboard is stuff that helps. Of course, trolling out of the area before starting up will gain many friends on the lake.

This is all stuff you already know, so lets see what else other people can add to educate other fisherman!

"W"
06-09-2009, 10:42 PM