SaltyCajun.com

SaltyCajun.com (http://www.saltycajun.com/forum/index.php)
-   Inshore Saltwater Fishing Discussion (http://www.saltycajun.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Weirs Closed (http://www.saltycajun.com/forum/showthread.php?t=52920)

"W" 04-25-2014 08:33 PM

Weirs Closed

Infinity due to high salinity in April, going to be a long long long summer

Glad I did not waist that $350 to fish the marsh this year

Bobbynofish 04-25-2014 09:01 PM

Right around the corner from shrimp season....again...how ironic?!?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

RL33 04-25-2014 09:01 PM

Forgive my ignorance, but I'm new to fishing from a boat in the lake. What does this mean for the fishing?

calcutta37 04-25-2014 09:07 PM

It's not good. There is a ton of bait that comes from behind the weirs.

"W" 04-25-2014 09:12 PM

Marsh is the heart of your estuary, now the duck hunters don't like saltwater because it kills there wedgion grass and then they can't shoot ducks

Kill the lake for ducks is the motto

Goooh 04-25-2014 09:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by "W" (Post 684452)
Marsh is the heart of your estuary, now the duck hunters don't like saltwater because it kills there wedgion grass and then they can't shoot ducks

Wouldn't requiring face paint bring the ducks back though?

Smalls 04-25-2014 09:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by "W" (Post 684452)

Here we go again. It also kills the Marsh. Geez. All Marsh is not created equal. Some Marsh cannot handle salinity as high as the lake gets at times. I've personally taken salinity readings behind the weirs at 32 ppt. That is gulf strength. And it is not good that Marsh, which cannot tolerate salinity that high.

I do agree with W that shutting the weirs off for a very extended period is not good for the lake. But neither is a dead Marsh.

Cripley 04-25-2014 10:40 PM