SaltyCajun.com

SaltyCajun.com (http://www.saltycajun.com/forum/index.php)
-   General Discussion (Everything Else) (http://www.saltycajun.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Hardiboard vs Vinyl siding (http://www.saltycajun.com/forum/showthread.php?t=54307)

Jcredeur 06-18-2014 08:32 PM

Hardiboard vs Vinyl siding

Looking for advise on choosing between the two. I have little experience with either. Is the hardiboard worth the extra $8,000?

Thank y'all!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

pricecb 06-18-2014 08:40 PM

Siding isn't as nice and will show wear and tear over time. The colors fade and the style does change so replacing it can be hard if you get some off the wall color.
there are some products that have a foam backing or other insulators I think it's called smart siding or something like that. I have it on my office 7yrs never had to replace any and it looks good.

Hardi is expensive but will last. It's easy to find some if you do damage it. But it does need to be painted which can be good if you ever want to change the color.

fishinpox 06-18-2014 08:42 PM

Hardi!

weedeater 06-18-2014 09:16 PM

Hardi or go 100% brick with option of sacking or painting some or all the brick

Matt G 06-18-2014 09:29 PM

I'm about to pull the sheet metal off of my house and Hardi plank it. Material is way cheaper than what I expected. We did my dad's office and my brother's house and it wasn't that hard to install. The beech was all of the caulking before painting it.

Pox, would you suggest the wood textured or smooth? I like the textured, but feel it will trap dirt and need to be pressure washed more.

T-TOP 06-18-2014 10:08 PM

Getting ready to build also. Going with the hardi under back porch, and painted brick under front porch.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

fishinpox 06-18-2014 10:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt G (Post 700252)