SaltyCajun.com http://www.lmcboats.com/

Notices

Go Back   SaltyCajun.com > Fishing Talk > Offshore Fishing Discussion > Offshore Fishing Reports

Offshore Fishing Reports Read and share fishing reports for your favorite offshore spots here

Old 08-17-2013, 12:11 PM
Tripletail

Cash: 8,726
Default Weathering the storms

We are in a tropical wet mess. My rain gage is over the 5 inch max in about 2 days and I am not going out in the rain to empty it. Today and tomorrow are canceled. I barely made yesterday. It started out like this.

Venice marina is 17 on the chart. My plan was to go between Lena and Coniac and past the 2640 mark. I was holding at Port Eads and deciding if it was worth running through the thunder storms and high winds to get tuna or just wait it out or go the other way and get a few amberjack. We left the marina and only did 24 mph down the river to stay out of as much of the mess as possible. Once at Port Eads I studied the system and found a small window to push through and get south of the system. It was only a few miles but not very comfortable. At least the lightning let up.

As we eased out in rough conditions the further out we got on our 45 mile journey the seas got a bit calmer. Once in the area I made bait. It took a while but we picked up 12-15 tuna crack. At the first place I marked the fish well and proceeded to loose the first 5 fish. One was human error for sure because the guy got too excited and pulled the bait out of the tuna's mouth. The rest were mind boggling. I went about 5 miles to another rig and set out baits. Screaming reel sound is Soooooo Saweeet.

Colby having his jacket on just about finished him off. He almost passed the rod but when the leader first showed the adrenalin kicked in and he finished off this nice 70 pounder. With only 1 man on board I make it a practice to put a belt and harness on him to make it a bit easier. If he gets hurt fighting the fish the trip could be over before the fish ever hits the deck.