SaltyCajun.com http://www.gclendingservices.com//

Notices

Go Back   SaltyCajun.com > Fishing Talk > Inshore Saltwater Fishing Discussion

Inshore Saltwater Fishing Discussion Discuss inshore fishing, tackle, and tactics here!

LMC Marine

Old 03-30-2010, 07:45 PM
King Mackeral

Cash: 2,864
Default My Big Lake 2 Cents

This is from the Spring of 2009 from another message board. I dug it out of the archives, dusted it off and thought since fishing season is here it would be a good time to re-post this. Many of you read and commented on this last spring. All of the comments were right on point and so take it for what it is worth. Pull up a comfortable chair, get comfortable, and enjoy!

MY Big Lake analysis:

Ok, so I have been reading all of the posts about Big Lake (Lake Calcasieu). I have not had time until now to sit down and put my thoughts in a post. I am not a professional fisherman nor a guide. I am, like most on here, a weekend warrior. However, I have been fishing Big Lake for over 30 years. I don't claim to know everything about the lake or all of the techniques different people use to be successful. However, I do know how to fish the lake and catch fish consistently.

So, here is the biggest dilema facing Big Lake: It is a huge lake that fishes very small. Most of you who fish there know what I mean. Basically you have a large body of water with very few consistent "fishy" spots. There are only so many reefs and "holes" that consistently hold fish. And these spots hold fish at different times of the year and under different circumstances. THIS is what makes Big Lake a tough place to fish most of the time.