SaltyCajun.com http://www.geaux-outdoors.com/

Notices

Go Back   SaltyCajun.com > Hobby Forums > The Roux (Cooking/BBQ/Recipes)

The Roux (Cooking/BBQ/Recipes) What good is a cajun site without a cooking and recipe forum?

Old 09-15-2014, 10:30 AM
Red Snapper

Cash: 1,852
Default how do you make your roux?

in response to the store bought roux vs home made question, I thought it would be great to have a thread where people compared how they make their roux.

its amazing how something so simple can be made so many different ways so lets hear from you guys about your own favorite way to make a roux and do you make different roux for different dishes or is it always the same roux you make for everything.

I, and im sure many others, would find this very educational and learn more about how to made a better roux

im a rookie so I just make the plain flour and veggie oil roux for everything I cook.
Old 09-15-2014, 10:47 AM
Ling

Cash: 1,584

I make simple roux's with butter of bacon drippings.............my gumbo roux is made the night before....

I let the oil settle on top and drain it off.
I get my meat browned down and add the water and vegetables, then I spoon in the roux a little at a time..............gives me the exact consistency I want.

My grandmother made a roux every Sunday afternoon and used it all week long in whatever she cooked...........kept in on the counter right next to the bacon grease
Old 09-15-2014, 11:36 AM
Swordfish

Cash: 3,427

1 cup of oil
1 cup of flour

I put my oil in the pot and let it get hot under a med heat on a 32,000 BTU burner in a 8 qt magnalite pot or a 12" cast iton skillet

I add my flour abour 1/4 cup at a time and whisk it in with a metal whisk that I picked up at the Dollar General

I stir till it looks like peanut butter then I turn it off.
Old 09-15-2014, 11:59 AM
Sailfish

Cash: 5,193