SaltyCajun.com http://www.acadianamarina.com//

Notices

Go Back   SaltyCajun.com > Fishing Talk > Inshore Saltwater Fishing Discussion

Inshore Saltwater Fishing Discussion Discuss inshore fishing, tackle, and tactics here!

LMC Marine

Old 08-04-2018, 05:52 PM
Flounder

Cash: 455
Default LA Civil Code article 450 waterways

I am by no means a lawyer or anywhere close to an expert in the field;however, am just trying to better educate myself on the marshes and waterways of Louisiana. I know this issue is a very slippery slope and no one really seems to know the answers, at least not in the places I?ve looked for info. LA Civil 450 states that if a water way is natural and was not a man made canal or bayou, then the sediments of the water way bottom is state owned land. However, there seem to be many bayous in La that lead into marshes that have a posted sign in the dead center of them, and the wildlife and fisheries will tell you that it ?somebody? claims to own the water way then it?s private and to stay off even if it?s natural. So I guess the real question does the Civil Code article 450 even really stand for anything at all or is it just a cliche saying to make sportsman?s paradise sound good? Is the marshes of Louisiana even worth fishing at all because 70 percent of them seem to be ?owned??
Old 08-04-2018, 10:23 PM
Flounder

Cash: 728