SaltyCajun.com http://www.lmcboats.com/

Notices

Go Back   SaltyCajun.com > General Discussion Forums > General Discussion (Everything Else)

General Discussion (Everything Else) Discuss anything that doesn't belong in any other forums here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-07-2018, 07:56 AM
alphaman's Avatar
alphaman alphaman is offline
Sailfish
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: LAFAYETTE
Posts: 4,067
Cash: 3,392
Default Help Outside ac unit fuse box?

When i turn on my central air in the house. Noticed it wasnt cooling so i go outside and the unit isnt running. I cut off the unit inside and thrn go back out. I pull the fuse out and put it back in. Then cut on theac inside. Unit cones back on an cools all night. This is the 2nd time this happened.

barrel fuses going bad?



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-07-2018, 08:46 AM
CajunSaint's Avatar
CajunSaint CajunSaint is offline
Kyocera Dealer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lafayette
Posts: 2,611
Cash: 1,215
Default

I would guess the contacts need to be cleaned??
__________________
Signature
Here's to you and here's to me, and I hope we never disagree. But, if that should ever be, to HELL with you, here's to ME!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-07-2018, 10:07 AM
BananaTom's Avatar
BananaTom BananaTom is offline
Tripletail
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 542
Cash: 765
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alphaman View Post
barrel fuses going bad?
Fuses do not gradually go bad.
They either work or not.

Now a 220 volt, 30 amp contactor will fail intermittently, as the contact points start to pit, and not make a constant connection. Pull the fuses, and look at the points on the contactor. You will see burnt marks on the points of contact.

It is best to replace the contactor, and not clean or file the points, as they will not provide the proper amperage to the compressor, causing compressor overheating and ultimate failure.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-07-2018, 10:26 AM
alphaman's Avatar
alphaman alphaman is offline
Sailfish
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: LAFAYETTE
Posts: 4,067
Cash: 3,392
Default




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-07-2018, 10:27 AM
alphaman's Avatar
alphaman alphaman is offline
Sailfish
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: LAFAYETTE
Posts: 4,067
Cash: 3,392
Default




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-07-2018, 10:32 AM
casmurf casmurf is offline
Flounder
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: waggaman, louisiana
Posts: 44
Cash: 426
Default

capacitor is going out.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-07-2018, 11:39 AM
alphaman's Avatar
alphaman alphaman is offline
Sailfish
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: LAFAYETTE
Posts: 4,067
Cash: 3,392
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by casmurf View Post
capacitor is going out.


Is that on the inside unit or outside?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-07-2018, 02:03 PM
casmurf casmurf is offline
Flounder
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: waggaman, louisiana
Posts: 44
Cash: 426
Default

outside its what starts the compressor not hard to change u tube has lots of videos.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-07-2018, 02:59 PM
bjhooper82's Avatar
bjhooper82 bjhooper82 is offline
Sailfish
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lafayette
Posts: 4,840
Cash: 3,453
Lmfao

Quote:
Originally Posted by alphaman View Post



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Theres your problem, the on off switch is upside down!!!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-07-2018, 06:44 PM
alphaman's Avatar
alphaman alphaman is offline
Sailfish
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: LAFAYETTE
Posts: 4,067
Cash: 3,392
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bjhooper82 View Post
Theres your problem, the on off switch is upside down!!!


Lol.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-07-2018, 08:08 PM
alphaman's Avatar
alphaman alphaman is offline
Sailfish
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: LAFAYETTE
Posts: 4,067
Cash: 3,392
Default Help Outside ac unit fuse box?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bjhooper82 View Post
Theres your problem, the on off switch is upside down!!!


Thats how it set up. Though it has a grove for the switch to go in one way


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - [ARG:3 UNDEFINED], Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vB.Sponsors
vBCredits v1.4 Copyright ©2007 - 2008, PixelFX Studios
SaltyCajun.com logo provided by Bryce Risher

All content, images, designs, and logos are Copyright © 2009-2012,
Salty Cajun, LLC
No unathorized use is permitted
Geo Visitors Map