SaltyCajun.com http://k2-coolers.com/

Notices

Go Back   SaltyCajun.com > Fishing Talk > Freshwater Fishing Discussion

Freshwater Fishing Discussion For discussion of everything freshwater!

Old 07-25-2011, 09:10 AM
Redfish

Cash: 685
Default Toledo Bend

Found the bass at Toledo Bend this past weekend. Went with my brother, cousin and a friend and caught 145 bass between Friday and Sunday. The water level was really low making it a little more challenging to find somewhere close to launch but we got it done. Most fish caught on top water and flukes. Even though we found the fish, we never found the big ones. Fish to keeper ratio was a little low, but I would catch 12-16 inch bass all day.

First picture is from the first day before we cleaned fish, second is the view from the cabin we rented at South Toledo Bend State Park. You can see how low the water is. I have been fishing Toledo Bend for about 15 years and I have never seen the water this low. Made for some nervous boat rides...especially when you pass a log/tree/floater in the middle of the boat lane. Keep it slow and be careful out there.

Jordan
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Toledo_Bend_2011_1.jpg (84.7 KB, 250 views)
File Type: jpg Toledo_Bend_2011_3.jpg (87.9 KB, 250 views)
Old 07-25-2011, 09:23 AM
Swordfish

Cash: 10,192

Where were you able to go from there to launch?
Old 07-25-2011, 09:45 AM
Sailfish

Cash: 9,130

Man that water is low. nice haul
Old 07-25-2011, 10:40 AM
Redfish

We crossed the dam and lanched at a recreational area on the Texas Side. When you cross the dam, take a right on Texas Highway 255. About a mile or so down on your right there is a small tackle store. Take a right at the store and the boat lauch is right there.

The launch at the state park was closed and the closest launch to the north is Pirates Cove Marina, but you had to pay to launch there. The Tx Rec Area Launch was free. Hope this helps.
Old 07-25-2011, 10:45 AM
Ling

Cash: 2,271