SaltyCajun.com http://www.ccastar.com//

Notices

Go Back   SaltyCajun.com > Hobby Forums > Offroad Forum (4x4 & ATV)

Offroad Forum (4x4 & ATV) Discuss anything to do with offroad sports here, including ATVs, mudding in your truck, etc.

Old 06-04-2014, 05:28 PM
Red Snapper

Cash: 1,090
Default 3/4 ton gas trucks

Does anyone have any personal experience and opinions on the ram hemi 6.4l, ford 6.2l, or gm 6.0l? With all do respect, I'm looking for personal experience not 2nd hand opinion. Thanks
Old 06-04-2014, 05:54 PM
Sand Trout

Cash: 603

I had a Chevy 3/4 with a 6.0 as a company truck. I put over 100k miles on it without any issues. It pulled pretty good better tan a 1/2 ton but not as good as a diesel. Biggest draw back was 12 mpg and it was 2 wheel drive got stuck everywhere and the stiff suspension and light *** end would cause the truck to jump.
Old 06-04-2014, 06:40 PM
Tripletail

Cash: 1,507

I have a lot of experience with the Dodge 3/4 ton trucks. My favorite is my current rig (2005 Dodge Power Wagon) which I do everything with from rock crawling in NC to going to competing in local truck and tractor pulls. She is by far the best Veh I have ever owned and hopefully will be my last. Depending on how I drive depends on the fuel mileage, towing my 20' Tidewater I get 11 MPG and 14MPG when going back and forth to work taking it easy.

She has everything you need straight from the dealer: winch, lockers front and rear, and disconnecting sway bar.

This is the only truck I have ever owned that has not left me out to dry waiting on someone else to help me out of a sticky situation.

The only modifications I have done to this truck is I got a smoother suspension (Not taller) better rubber to handle all conditions, SCT programmer, and my signature bumpers (I made myself) and snorkel.