SaltyCajun.com https://www.facebook.com/CalcasieuExtremeRods

Notices

Go Back   SaltyCajun.com > General Discussion Forums > General Discussion (Everything Else)

General Discussion (Everything Else) Discuss anything that doesn't belong in any other forums here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-30-2013, 07:17 PM
Clampy's Avatar
Clampy Clampy is offline
Ling
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Flats
Posts: 3,509
Cash: 5,500
Default GPS Help please !

This is second hand knowledge and I know little about this subject but my friend wants a good GPs/ fish finder combo to see the marsh in dulac /point au chein area. Something to find ponds early morn and low light situations. He said he went to west marine and tried the hds 5 and the high dollar simrad with navionics card and it just showed generic marsh with no detail. Any help would be great.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-30-2013, 09:31 PM
ChrisD's Avatar
ChrisD ChrisD is offline
Trophy Trout
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Lake Charles, LA
Posts: 390
Cash: 1,367
Default

Standard Mapping makes chart cards how updated are the aerial photos....hard to say
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-30-2013, 09:33 PM
Montauk17's Avatar
Montauk17 Montauk17 is offline
Great White
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lafayette,LA
Posts: 10,803
Cash: 2,638
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisD View Post
Standard Mapping makes chart cards how updated are the aerial photos....hard to say
They are awesome,but only work with the lowrance HDS. http://www.aerialcharts.com/servlet/...ocodrie/Detail
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-30-2013, 09:38 PM
Goooh's Avatar
Goooh Goooh is offline
Swordfish
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Broussard
Posts: 5,660
Cash: 7,166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Montauk17 View Post
They are awesome,but only work with the lowrance HDS. http://www.aerialcharts.com/servlet/...ocodrie/Detail
You maintain all the overlay with regards to channel markers and stuff?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-30-2013, 09:40 PM
meaux fishing's Avatar
meaux fishing meaux fishing is offline
fish name
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Meaux
Posts: 12,531
Cash: 22,443
Default

If the chart wasnt set to insight and high detail then it wont look good on the simrad or lowrance
__________________
Brookshire Farm 100% Grass Fed Beef
http://www.brookshirefarm.com/


Quote:
Originally Posted by Spunt Drag View Post
Thanks, I'm just livin by the code: Paint face, Shoot Beretta's, Bounce the Hen.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-30-2013, 09:42 PM
Montauk17's Avatar
Montauk17 Montauk17 is offline
Great White
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lafayette,LA
Posts: 10,803
Cash: 2,638
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goooh View Post
You maintain all the overlay with regards to channel markers and stuff?
Not sure about that....give them a call or email
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-31-2013, 12:01 AM
bgizzle's Avatar
bgizzle bgizzle is offline
Sailfish
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: broussard,La
Posts: 4,526
Cash: 5,496
Default

Tell em get them to put the platinum plus chip in. It's tricky tho some come with different base maps(head unit) there was one that did what u are saying then there was one that changes the game for me. The different base maps were the key
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-31-2013, 06:15 AM
Clampy's Avatar
Clampy Clampy is offline
Ling
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Flats
Posts: 3,509
Cash: 5,500
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Montauk17 View Post
They are awesome,but only work with the lowrance HDS. http://www.aerialcharts.com/servlet/...ocodrie/Detail
Thanks Man. That's exactly what he needed.
http://www.aerialcharts.com/servlet/...-Chenes/Detail
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-31-2013, 07:15 AM
alphaman's Avatar
alphaman alphaman is online now
Sailfish
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: LAFAYETTE
Posts: 4,079
Cash: 3,610
Default

Who has a standard mapping chip in there lowrance unit now?

I would like to see the difference beside it being an actual picture. I have the hds 7 touch and if it is on 2d it shows all the reefs inside sw pass and the ones south of marsh island along unnamed reefs with a shaded area for caution.
If I put my unit on 3d mode. The reefs are white in color. Being that its a shallow area.

sent from my Galaxy NOTE II
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-31-2013, 10:14 AM
Clampy's Avatar
Clampy Clampy is offline
Ling
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Flats
Posts: 3,509
Cash: 5,500
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alphaman View Post
Who has a standard mapping chip in there lowrance unit now?

I would like to see the difference beside it being an actual picture. I have the hds 7 touch and if it is on 2d it shows all the reefs inside sw pass and the ones south of marsh island along unnamed reefs with a shaded area for caution.
If I put my unit on 3d mode. The reefs are white in color. Being that its a shallow area.

sent from my Galaxy NOTE II
Pretty sweet right there.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-31-2013, 10:21 AM
alphaman's Avatar
alphaman alphaman is online now
Sailfish
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: LAFAYETTE
Posts: 4,079
Cash: 3,610
Default

Here is a few pics of what im seeing in 2D. This is why i want to see what the standard map chip shows. May not need it.

sent from my Galaxy NOTE II
Attached Images
File Type: jpg uploadfromtaptalk1375284021951.jpg (73.8 KB, 147 views)
File Type: jpg uploadfromtaptalk1375284039328.jpg (56.7 KB, 147 views)
File Type: jpg uploadfromtaptalk1375284062490.jpg (62.1 KB, 147 views)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-31-2013, 10:29 AM
fishwater's Avatar
fishwater fishwater is offline
Redfish
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: louisiana
Posts: 127
Cash: 1,011
Default

Mine doesnt show reefs like that on big lake with my standard mapping card or my pre installed maps on my hds 8.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-31-2013, 10:31 AM
alphaman's Avatar
alphaman alphaman is online now
Sailfish
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: LAFAYETTE
Posts: 4,079
Cash: 3,610
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fishwater View Post
Mine doesnt show reefs like that on big lake with my standard mapping card or my pre installed maps on my hds 8.
This is hds 7 touch. With pre installed info. I may not need t spend 70 bucks. Mine doesnt show anything for big lake either. It shows everything east though all the way to chandelier island

sent from my Galaxy NOTE II
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-31-2013, 11:23 AM
latravcha's Avatar
latravcha latravcha is offline
Red Snapper
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Pierre Part
Posts: 1,490
Cash: 2,195
Default

When I first got my 7 it did not show all the info it does now. Be sure you go into the map setting and select everything you want it to show.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-31-2013, 12:31 PM
Montauk17's Avatar
Montauk17 Montauk17 is offline
Great White
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lafayette,LA
Posts: 10,803
Cash: 2,638
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fishwater View Post
Mine doesnt show reefs like that on big lake with my standard mapping card or my pre installed maps on my hds 8.
Big lake does not have the exposed reefs like vbay area in the pass and south marsh island.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-31-2013, 12:52 PM
jpeff31787's Avatar
jpeff31787 jpeff31787 is offline
Ling
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Carencro, La
Posts: 3,787
Cash: 2,221
Default

sweet looking base map alphaman! Making me want to get me one of those HDS7!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-31-2013, 01:45 PM
fishwater's Avatar
fishwater fishwater is offline
Redfish
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: louisiana
Posts: 127
Cash: 1,011
Default

So those reefs are exposed is why they are being shown ?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-31-2013, 03:06 PM
Clampy's Avatar
Clampy Clampy is offline
Ling
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Flats
Posts: 3,509
Cash: 5,500
Default

I'm pretty sure the Big Lake 1% paid off lowrance to not put the reefs.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-31-2013, 04:33 PM
Montauk17's Avatar
Montauk17 Montauk17 is offline
Great White
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lafayette,LA
Posts: 10,803
Cash: 2,638
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fishwater View Post
So those reefs are exposed is why they are being shown ?
Almost all of them on the map are exposed at low tide.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-31-2013, 10:38 PM
wishin i was fishin's Avatar
wishin i was fishin wishin i was fishin is offline
Red Snapper
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Broussard
Posts: 1,109
Cash: 1,838
Default

i have the HDS 7 with the v bay standard map chip. yes, you do maintain the channel markers, they overlay on top of the map. cant send any pics till tomorrow afternoon.

the map is an electronic version of the regular map. basically whats on the regular map is what you get. its really accurate.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - [ARG:3 UNDEFINED], Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vB.Sponsors
vBCredits v1.4 Copyright ©2007 - 2008, PixelFX Studios
SaltyCajun.com logo provided by Bryce Risher

All content, images, designs, and logos are Copyright © 2009-2012,
Salty Cajun, LLC
No unathorized use is permitted
Geo Visitors Map