SaltyCajun.com http://www.angler-products.com//

Notices

Go Back   SaltyCajun.com > Hobby Forums > Tech Support Forum

Tech Support Forum Use this forum to discuss and find answers for any technical (computer) issues you are having

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-19-2010, 01:13 PM
"W"'s Avatar
"W" "W" is offline
Catch fish in DA face!!
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Big Lake LA
Posts: 32,974
Cash: 7,729
Default Computer Help

I just got my new Dell in today and have all what I need off of it......SO were do I go to put my old computer to day one? I want to set it back to the 1st day setting when I bought it. Im going to give it away
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-19-2010, 01:13 PM
Jordan's Avatar
Jordan Jordan is offline
Great White
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: DeRidder,LA
Posts: 10,399
Cash: 2,434
Default

artificial reef in big lake ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-19-2010, 01:26 PM
bay_slayer's Avatar
bay_slayer bay_slayer is offline
King Mackeral
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Morgan City
Posts: 2,560
Cash: 743
Default

Do you have your back-up discs for the old computer?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-19-2010, 01:27 PM
jpeff31787's Avatar
jpeff31787 jpeff31787 is offline
Ling
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Carencro, La
Posts: 3,787
Cash: 2,171
Default

just press f11 or f10 whenever you start it up and format the thing.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-19-2010, 01:33 PM
"W"'s Avatar
"W" "W" is offline
Catch fish in DA face!!
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Big Lake LA
Posts: 32,974
Cash: 7,729
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpeff31787 View Post
just press f11 or f10 whenever you start it up and format the thing.

Whats Format? What do I do
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-19-2010, 01:37 PM
bay_slayer's Avatar
bay_slayer bay_slayer is offline
King Mackeral
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Morgan City
Posts: 2,560
Cash: 743
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by "W" View Post
Whats Format? What do I do

Make sure you have your boot discs before you do that...........but if you have your boot discs it will format it for you.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-19-2010, 01:38 PM
"W"'s Avatar
"W" "W" is offline
Catch fish in DA face!!
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Big Lake LA
Posts: 32,974
Cash: 7,729
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bay_slayer View Post
Make sure you have your boot discs before you do that...........but if you have your boot discs it will format it for you.

Dont have any disc ....
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-19-2010, 01:41 PM
bay_slayer's Avatar
bay_slayer bay_slayer is offline
King Mackeral
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Morgan City
Posts: 2,560
Cash: 743
Default

Then you will either have to order the boot (recovery) discs from your computer manufacturer or go buy an OS from the store.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-19-2010, 01:51 PM
"W"'s Avatar
"W" "W" is offline
Catch fish in DA face!!
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Big Lake LA
Posts: 32,974
Cash: 7,729
Default

I just can't whip it out??? I just want to take all my stuff off
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-19-2010, 01:55 PM
bay_slayer's Avatar
bay_slayer bay_slayer is offline
King Mackeral
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Morgan City
Posts: 2,560
Cash: 743
Default

If you want to get it back to its original state.........I think thats about the best way to do it. I guess you could just delete all your stuff off, but you can leave traces of personal information that way too
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-19-2010, 02:14 PM
Dink's Avatar
Dink Dink is offline
Blue Marlin
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Lafayette
Posts: 7,768
Cash: 2,092
Default

Exit to DOS and if I remember right its c:/format C

That should be it.........getting it to boot up after is another story.....you'll need a boot disk
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-19-2010, 02:27 PM
meaux fishing's Avatar
meaux fishing meaux fishing is offline
fish name
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Meaux
Posts: 12,531
Cash: 22,443
Default

If you have a copy of windows, it can even be the copy that came with your new computer, just put it in then do a clean install it will probably take a couple hours
__________________
Brookshire Farm 100% Grass Fed Beef
http://www.brookshirefarm.com/


Quote:
Originally Posted by Spunt Drag View Post
Thanks, I'm just livin by the code: Paint face, Shoot Beretta's, Bounce the Hen.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-19-2010, 02:35 PM
ShadMan's Avatar
ShadMan ShadMan is offline
Westerly neighbor
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,996
Cash: 2,939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dink View Post
Exit to DOS and if I remember right its c:/format C

That should be it.........getting it to boot up after is another story.....you'll need a boot disk
DOS hasn't existed in over 15 years. Get with the program, Tim.

Jeremy, there is no way to do it if you don't have a Windows CD. There are some utilities you can download to wipe the disk, but unless you have a Windows CD/DVD, you won't be able to reinstall Windows, which lowers the value of your computer for resale.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by W
My Ego is way bigger than any trout you ever caught
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-19-2010, 02:59 PM
Salty's Avatar
Salty Salty is offline
Great White
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: LA
Posts: 25,447
Cash: 3,291
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by "W" View Post
I just can't whip it out??? I just want to take all my stuff off
WHAT??????????????
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-19-2010, 03:05 PM
Dink's Avatar
Dink Dink is offline
Blue Marlin
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Lafayette
Posts: 7,768
Cash: 2,092
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadMan View Post
DOS hasn't existed in over 15 years. Get with the program, Tim.

Jeremy, there is no way to do it if you don't have a Windows CD. There are some utilities you can download to wipe the disk, but unless you have a Windows CD/DVD, you won't be able to reinstall Windows, which lowers the value of your computer for resale.
Really? Didn't k ow that........I used to goto circuit city and format all the computers......that was a long time ago.....wish everything was DOS still.......it was easier
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-19-2010, 03:38 PM
jpeff31787's Avatar
jpeff31787 jpeff31787 is offline
Ling
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Carencro, La
Posts: 3,787
Cash: 2,171
Default

so have you came to a solution?

If you don't want everything you can just go buy an external Hard Drive from walmart and move everything you want from your old computer to it and then plug it to your new computer and copy it on.

The external hard drives cost like 50 bucks depending on the size you want. I think you can get some 20gb ones for like 30-40 bucks, but they even have 100gb ones for 75-100 dollars. All it is, is a huge usb flash drive. I'd buy one about 10 gb and then just copy everything on it move it to new computer, dump it, then delete everything off of and plug it told old computer then put what you didn't put on it the first time and repeat, you know.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-19-2010, 04:34 PM
Reel Bender's Avatar
Reel Bender Reel Bender is offline
Red Snapper
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Tx Gulf Coast
Posts: 1,771
Cash: 550
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by "W" View Post
I just can't whip it out??? I just want to take all my stuff off

That would be considered illegal in some places.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-24-2010, 06:10 PM
davethefish1 davethefish1 is offline
Trophy Trout
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Marrero, Louisiana
Posts: 319
Cash: 500
Smile Try This!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dink View Post
Exit to DOS and if I remember right its c:/format C

That should be it.........getting it to boot up after is another story.....you'll need a boot disk
Hold down Shift Key and right click Desktop.you should see"Open Command Window Here" on menu,just click and there's DOS
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-24-2010, 06:24 PM
jchief's Avatar
jchief jchief is offline
Calcasieu Extreme Rods
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Carlyss, America
Posts: 10,371
Cash: 12,724
Default

I believe Dell has a D: drive that will reinstall windows and fromat the hard drive. Check and see.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-24-2010, 08:14 PM
catch_and_release's Avatar
catch_and_release catch_and_release is offline
Flounder
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sulphur
Posts: 64
Cash: 546
Default

If it's a Dell. You might have a "PC Restore Partiton". The easiest way to find out is boot up the computer and after the "Dell" Bios screen you should see a black screen with a blue bar at the top that says www.dell.com. If you see that reboot the computer again and at the Dell Bios screen slowly press CTRL+F11 that's the shortcut to launch the "PC Restore" utility, after that it's just a few clicks and it erases all your stuff and puts it back to the way it was when it shipped to you. If that's not an option and you don't have a Windows disk you'll have to download a DOS Boot Disk. It goes on a floppy disk and your computer will boot to it, from there you can do a Format C:.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - [ARG:3 UNDEFINED], Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vB.Sponsors
vBCredits v1.4 Copyright ©2007 - 2008, PixelFX Studios
SaltyCajun.com logo provided by Bryce Risher

All content, images, designs, and logos are Copyright © 2009-2012,
Salty Cajun, LLC
No unathorized use is permitted
Geo Visitors Map