SaltyCajun.com lake area banner

Notices

Go Back   SaltyCajun.com > Hobby Forums > Kayak and Canoe Forum

Kayak and Canoe Forum Discuss non-motorized watersport activities here, including kayaking, canoeing, etc.

Old 04-05-2013, 03:02 PM
Sand Trout

Cash: 507
Default New to the water

Hello all, I'm new to the kayak/canoeing world.a prospect if you will. I've been thinking of purchasing a kayak or canoe to use for photography. But I don't know which one to go with. So here's the traits I'm looking for in whichever watercraft I choose. The first one being stability, ill be on the water with a pretty expensive camera set up($2000+),though while im traveling I plan on using dry boxes. The other thing is that I do not have a truck, I have a compact car so it has to pretty portable. I was looking at something in the 10' range. I've never used a kayak before but I've heard that the wider the more stable, and that the sit on top kayaks aren't as stable as the kind you sit inside, is this true? I have used a Conoe a few times, and I like the canoe. By the way whatever I choose will be a single and not tandem . Also, i mainly plan on using it in still water, bayous, swamps, the fastest moving water being the pearl river. Any suggestions for me?
Thanks in advance!
Old 04-05-2013, 11:23 PM
Great White

Cash: 22,543

Im not a yakker but from what i understand Hobie makes the cadillac of yaks. Go talk to the guys at pack n paddle in Lafayette. They will fix you up. Also there are a few yakkers on here maybe they will chime in
Old 04-06-2013, 06:44 AM
Flounder

Cash: 685

Sit on tops in general are more stable. Do you plan on using a tripod? If so a hybrid model might suit you- flat surface below your legs plus the high seat could allow you to use a tripod. The wilderness commander is ideal for this. Its a hybrid kayak which has canoe-like features but stable and does not self bail.
Old 04-06-2013, 09:20 AM
Tripletail

Cash: 1,038