SaltyCajun.com lake area banner

Notices

Go Back   SaltyCajun.com > Hobby Forums > The Roux (Cooking/BBQ/Recipes)

The Roux (Cooking/BBQ/Recipes) What good is a cajun site without a cooking and recipe forum?

Old 12-03-2009, 07:39 PM
Tripletail

Cash: 1,074
Default Boiled Boston Butt in Seafood Boil By a Newbie

Hello, I just came over from the Pensacola Fishing Forum to nose around abit and decided to join since I grew up as a Westbanker. I had camp access First in Bay Adams, then a place formally known as Lake Judge Perez, and then Happy Jack Canal. I have been living over Pensacola way since 1995.

So ~~~~ since I am a Newbie of this great open forum ~~~~ I feel I must start off right by contributing this way of cooking a Butt:

Last year we played around with various items to add to a crawfish boil. When we would boil three or more pots, we added a Boston Butt. And moved it from pot to pot until the end and then ate it. Man was that good.

Then we had the PFF crawfish boil at Nextsteps house. We had a few pots and three sacks, so the Butt would not be cooked long enough with the crawfish to render it finished.

And I wanted my new way of cooking a Boston Butt for this event!!!

So I boiled it by itself. It was a hit. Since then I have boiled many, most every weekend. I have even cooked a pork shoulder roast this way.

It is sooo easy. Cover the Boston Butt, or Shoulder Roast in water. Add seafood boil to taste. A little at first, and then more as the pot matures

Turn on the fire. I let it cook so it is just barely rolling. The seafood boil will soak in, and I add some more to taste. I cook it for 3 - 5 hours. A Boston Butt will actually eject the bone from within. That is when it is done. Same for the Shoulder Roast.

Last time I did a shoulder, I forgot about it. It cooked for 7 hours. It was still awesome.