PDA

View Full Version : pirogue

youu_whoo_whoo
12-13-2011, 06:32 PM
Im considering building a pirogue. Does anyone know a set of good plans to use and has anyone ever done this before. I have experience with the woodworking aspect, but how would you seal it? Could you just use something waterproof and prime and paint the wood instead of using fiberglass? I have no experience with fiberglass and would like to stay away from it if possible.

Thanks for any advice, tips, and suggestions.

Feesherman
12-15-2011, 08:54 AM
Im considering building a pirogue. Does anyone know a set of good plans to use and has anyone ever done this before. I have experience with the woodworking aspect, but how would you seal it? Could you just use something waterproof and prime and paint the wood instead of using fiberglass? I have no experience with fiberglass and would like to stay away from it if possible.

Thanks for any advice, tips, and suggestions.

You can use epoxy paint.

simplepeddler
12-15-2011, 10:27 AM
Check out Gatorboats.com go to the forum.........all your boat DIY questions and answers are there.

evidrine
12-15-2011, 10:28 AM
If you seal the wood right or use a marine grade plywood you wouldn't have to fiberglass the whole thing. Just the seams with fiberglass tape and a resin epoxy. Not that difficult and better in the long run. If your going through the trouble of building I would do it right and make it last longer. You can get the resin and fiberglass tape on ebay for fairly cheap.

genegillis5
09-08-2013, 02:13 PM