SaltyCajun.com http://www.lakecharlesurgentcare.com//

Notices

Go Back   SaltyCajun.com > Fishing Talk > Inshore Saltwater Fishing Discussion

Inshore Saltwater Fishing Discussion Discuss inshore fishing, tackle, and tactics here!

LMC Marine

Old 04-18-2012, 04:37 PM
Trophy Trout

Cash: 1,657
Default Trolling Motor Batteries

I am thinking of investing in some Optima Batteries for my trolling motor on my bay boat and I wanted to see what thoughts others might have on them...are they worth it? Is there something less expensive that may be comparable? I have been fighting with keeping batteries for longer than six months, the cheaper brands just don't seem to last at all!
Old 04-18-2012, 04:46 PM
King Mackeral

Cash: 5,633
Default me 2

i am only posting as a pilgrim to see the answers you getcause i too am curious and in need of another battery
Old 04-18-2012, 05:48 PM
Great White

Cash: 22,593

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishmaster19 View Post
I am thinking of investing in some Optima Batteries for my trolling motor on my bay boat and I wanted to see what thoughts others might have on them...are they worth it? Is there something less expensive that may be comparable? I have been fighting with keeping batteries for longer than six months, the cheaper brands just don't seem to last at all!
six months is way too short... there might be something wrong with your electrical system. A walmart battery used to last me 2years in my kenner. One of mine just died out in my triton and the sticker on it is from 08. It was an energizer brand. I hear optimas are the way to go. I might have to invest in one
Old 04-18-2012, 05:51 PM
Redfish

Cash: 901

I know this post will get ignored cause I'm from Texas, but my first set of Optimas lasted a little over 7 years, they like to be charged slow with 5 amps or less for a longer life & charge them when you get off the water.
Old 04-18-2012, 05:51 PM
Ling

Cash: 562