SaltyCajun.com http://www.angler-products.com//

Notices

Go Back   SaltyCajun.com > Fishing Talk > Boating Talk

Boating Talk For discussion of everything related to boats and motors

Old 08-25-2015, 04:31 PM
Red Snapper

Cash: 2,124
Default Trailer Light Question?

Ok I have an 18' triton on an aluminum trailer the lights are old dont work half the time and I am thinking about rewiring it the old school country boy way. Thinking about just using an extension cord wiring it up leaving the wire tie wrapped to the frame for easy futue access. My question is this there are a couple little yellow lights on th frame in the mid point that I dont think have worked in years do they hafta be there?? Can I put reflector tape instead or just wire the tail lights and be done. Is there some law I dont know are they just there and can be forgotten about??
Old 08-25-2015, 07:30 PM
Red Snapper

Cash: 1,852

it works perfectly, I have been doing it on all my trailers for 20 years and the extension cord last damn near forever. by having a designated ground wire the whole way completely eliminates any chances of bad ground connections anywhere. I used to have to replace the wires every few years before I got smart and went to using extension cords.

get a basic 50 foot 16 gauge extension cord and cut it in half, the green is your ground wire, white is for light and black is for blinker. this color code is easy to remember and means you never mix up any wiring. I go straight from tongue to the tail lights without tapping into the wiring, then if I need marker lights I use 16 gauge lamp cord wire to run to the marker lights. I do this because most often the problem areas in the wiring are breaks at the spot where its tapped into for the marker lights.
Old 08-25-2015, 07:47 PM
Redfish

Cash: 669

Technically if there is a marker light it is suppose to be burning. But that's a law mostly enforced on commercial vehicles.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Old 08-26-2015, 06:16 AM