SaltyCajun.com http://www.ccastar.com//

Notices

Go Back   SaltyCajun.com > Hunting, Boating, and General Outdoor Talk > Hunting Discussion

Hunting Discussion Discuss anything related to hunting here!

Old 10-08-2011, 09:38 AM
Sailfish

Cash: 826
Question Public Hunting Land

First off, let me start this thread by saying that I am completely hunting illiterate! Please excuse any ignorance I may show toward hunting. I have only been dove hunting a couple of times but that was on family land in north Texas. I am really wanting to get involved in all types of hunting, especially deer and duck..primarily deer. I am a college student, so a buying a lease is out of the question.

Where are public lands located? I am not concerned about taking a trophy, shooting a doe would bring me just as much excitement as well as put meat in the freezer. I have been searching google and ldwf website, but I have not been able to find a map detailing public land. I also searched this site, with most public land info going toward duck hunting.

My father will be giving me one of his old rifles. All I know is that it is a .30-30 caliber. I have been doing research and this seems to be a good entry level caliber. It has a scope, but I do not know the dimensions.

Basically I am just looking for somewhere to get out and enjoy the experience of the hunt. I love being outdoors, so a day outside would be a day at school. Taking a deer would be a bonus. Any info on public land, hunting tips, etc would be greatly appreciated!
Old 10-08-2011, 09:45 AM
Great White

Cash: 1,902

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcjaredsandwich View Post