SaltyCajun.com http://www.lakecharlestackle.com/

Notices

Go Back   SaltyCajun.com > Hunting, Boating, and General Outdoor Talk > Hunting Discussion

Hunting Discussion Discuss anything related to hunting here!

Old 10-18-2010, 12:01 PM
Redfish

Cash: 763
Default To force break a dog or not

I have a good lab pup (6months)
Who is doing well with descipline and retrieves well for fun. I want to step it up and was looking for the pros & cons on force breaking a retriever..
Old 10-18-2010, 12:23 PM
King Mackeral

Cash: 1,488

Well, I am not a professional, but I have always had better performance from a dog that was forced.

If you are lucky, Ducktricster will chime in on this one as he and his dad have forgotten more about training labs than you and I put together.

Also, join the HRC club and they have a chapter in LC and Crowley that can be a big help for training a young dog.
Old 10-18-2010, 02:51 PM
Ling

Cash: 1,584

Best done by someone else in my opinion.
but that is just my opinion.
Old 10-18-2010, 02:58 PM
Great White

Cash: 2,534

might wanna PM Raymond... he does it as a side job i think !!!

Huntin' fool has a couple of posts here... might wanna do a search
Old 10-18-2010, 08:30 PM
Redfish

Headknocker Working dog

I am old school I trained my hunting dogs many years ago and never forced
corrected them and they did fine I think I'm going the old fashion way and we'll see what happens..What's the difference if they find the duck and bring it back and are in controlled...If the old fashion way doesn't work can you drop back and force break them....
Old 10-18-2010, 09:05 PM
Trophy Trout

Cash: 611

It seem that there are several people that have fooled around with dogs on this site. Dogs trainers are like horse trainers in a sence (Everybodys way is the best way.) I trained dogs to sell, for clients and ran dogs in field trials for 12 years. Every dog that I trained was forced except for my first one.