SaltyCajun.com http://www.budnmarys.com//

Notices

Go Back   SaltyCajun.com > Fishing Talk > Boating Talk

Boating Talk For discussion of everything related to boats and motors

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-18-2015, 09:02 AM
sweets's Avatar
sweets sweets is offline
Flounder
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lafayette
Posts: 46
Cash: 426
Default Power-pole not working

I tried emailing power-pole tech support but figured this forum would have faster answers. Last week I stored my boat and forgot to turn off my perko switch to kill all power. I was getting my boat ready for fishing this weekend and noticed that the power had stayed on and the little green light on my power-pole pump was still on. It's a Sportsman II model. I turned my perko on/off and the green light on my power-pole pump came back on but it didn't make the chime sound that it always does when I usually turn on power. I read in the manual that if the power-pole isn't used for a while it goes into hibernate mode but I can't find if there's a way to turn hibernate mode back on or if it just comes back on automatically. When I hit the button on my remote and dash switch the green light on my pump flickers so it seems like it's getting a signal. Also, since my perko was turned off my battery wasn't charged fully. I run my power-pole and outboard on the same battery. I was able to crank my outboard so I figured that I should have enough juice for the power-pole to work but I could be wrong. Any tips/help to fix it is appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-18-2015, 09:15 AM
RichWentFishing504's Avatar
RichWentFishing504 RichWentFishing504 is offline
Redfish
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Metairie
Posts: 151
Cash: 592
Default

You try killing all power via switch and then turning it all back on a few minutes later?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-18-2015, 09:27 AM
sweets's Avatar
sweets sweets is offline
Flounder
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lafayette
Posts: 46
Cash: 426
Default

I did kill the switch and turn it back on after several minutes but the green light came on but didn't flash or make the chime sound it normally does. The PP didn't do anything when I pressed the buttons on the remote. BTW, it worked perfect a week ago when I parked it and didn't turn off the main switch. I don't know what could've happened between now and then to make it quit working.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-18-2015, 09:32 AM
meaux fishing's Avatar
meaux fishing meaux fishing is offline
fish name
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Meaux
Posts: 12,531
Cash: 22,443
Default

Sounds like a corrosion problem. Look at your connections and check your fuses. You could try calling power pole I have never had a problem with them getting back to me via email quickly either though.
__________________
Brookshire Farm 100% Grass Fed Beef
http://www.brookshirefarm.com/


Quote:
Originally Posted by Spunt Drag View Post
Thanks, I'm just livin by the code: Paint face, Shoot Beretta's, Bounce the Hen.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-18-2015, 09:41 AM
sweets's Avatar
sweets sweets is offline
Flounder
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lafayette
Posts: 46
Cash: 426
Default

I don't think it's corrosion problem. I bought the PP last September so it's not even a year old. I'll try giving PP a call.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-18-2015, 09:43 AM
bayouchub bayouchub is offline
Tripletail
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: la
Posts: 965
Cash: 2,478
Default

Check inline fuse
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-18-2015, 09:49 AM
sweets's Avatar
sweets sweets is offline
Flounder
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lafayette
Posts: 46
Cash: 426
Default

I just called PP tech support. The guy told me to remove the fuse for 30 seconds so the unit can reset itself. If that didn't work to remove the 4 screws on the top cap on the pump and remove the board and try it like that (Not sure what that would do but I'll try if the fuse doesn't work). He told me that if that doesn't work then it may be a circuit board issue.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-18-2015, 03:12 PM
Cutty713's Avatar
Cutty713 Cutty713 is offline
Trophy Trout
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 304
Cash: 1,033
Default

Is it working yet? Their cust service has been top notch every time I needed them.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-18-2015, 03:33 PM
meaux fishing's Avatar
meaux fishing meaux fishing is offline
fish name
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Meaux
Posts: 12,531
Cash: 22,443
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cutty713 View Post
Is it working yet? Their cust service has been top notch every time I needed them.

X2
__________________
Brookshire Farm 100% Grass Fed Beef
http://www.brookshirefarm.com/


Quote:
Originally Posted by Spunt Drag View Post
Thanks, I'm just livin by the code: Paint face, Shoot Beretta's, Bounce the Hen.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-21-2015, 10:37 AM
sweets's Avatar
sweets sweets is offline
Flounder
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lafayette
Posts: 46
Cash: 426
Default

Update on powerpole. I called customer service and they advised me to remove the fuse for 5 minutes to see if the unit would reset itself. If that didn't work, then remove the (4) screws on the top cap and remove the board and disconnect the ribbon wire going from the top cap (part with buttons and lights) to the board. I did everything they recommended and nothing worked. I called customer service back and they shipped me a new circuit board and also a new top cap - everything is still under warranty but he told me that the parts would've cost $240. I should be good to go after I change out the parts. PP Tech support has been great to deal with.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-21-2015, 08:55 PM
jl8200's Avatar
jl8200 jl8200 is offline
Tripletail
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lake Charles, La
Posts: 542
Cash: 1,112
Default

There's nothing like great customer service. I recently bought a new Motorguide xi5 trolling motor and when I was putting the batteries in the remote control unit for the first time, one of the 4 screws that holds the cover in place stripped out the plastic. I called Motorguide and they immediately sent me a new one, and I didn't even have to send the old one back which still works. So now I have a backup remote control unit that still works but doesn't seal water tight. I didn't know this but Mercury owns Motorguide. Excellent customer service! There's nothing like it!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 PM.



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - [ARG:3 UNDEFINED], Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vB.Sponsors
vBCredits v1.4 Copyright ©2007 - 2008, PixelFX Studios
SaltyCajun.com logo provided by Bryce Risher

All content, images, designs, and logos are Copyright © 2009-2012,
Salty Cajun, LLC
No unathorized use is permitted
Geo Visitors Map