SaltyCajun.com http://www.lmcboats.com/

Notices

Go Back   SaltyCajun.com > Hunting, Boating, and General Outdoor Talk > Hunting Discussion

Hunting Discussion Discuss anything related to hunting here!

Old 11-14-2011, 12:18 PM
Flounder

Cash: 842
Default Specklebelly hunting

Hit the wax opening morning and had a 5 man limit for 9am. So Sunday we decided to go after some geese in gueydan. Had plenty in our area but couldn't seem to get in shooting range. They would respond to the calls and seemed interested but would go down in a field a few hundred yards away. I'm fairly new to goose hunting but really enjoy it. Any tips would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Old 11-14-2011, 12:20 PM
Ling

Cash: 3,167

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reelbadfishin' View Post
Hit the wax opening morning and had a 5 man limit for 9am. So Sunday we decided to go after some geese in gueydan. Had plenty in our area but couldn't seem to get in shooting range. They would respond to the calls and seemed interested but would go down in a field a few hundred yards away. I'm fairly new to goose hunting but really enjoy it. Any tips would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Go to the other field
or
go back to the Wax

Last edited by Duck Butter; 11-14-2011 at 12:40 PM.
Old 11-14-2011, 12:24 PM
King Mackeral

Cash: 2,834

less is more (calling). making sure everyone in the blind stays very still and keeps their faces hidden. work the smaller groups. the geese were real skiddish this weekend but thats not unusual for the opener. they will settle down soon and working them will get "slightly" easier
Old 11-14-2011, 12:43 PM
Swordfish

Cash: 10,192

We couldnt them to commit worth a crap on saturday. Not one bird acted like it wanted to work. We only fired once on some birds that happened to come by somewhat low. We dropped one that flew off crippled and we never found it. Scratched on opening day. It should get better though. Ducks flew all day but without water all we could do was bird watch.